Congressional Families® Program

Action for Cancer Awareness Awards Recipients 1993-2023

1993

Phyllis Newman, actress and advocate

Senator Bob Dole (Kan.)

Doris Matsui, founder of Congressional Families Action for Cancer Awareness Program and spouse of Congressman Bob Matsui (Calif.)

1994

Paula Zahn, co-anchor, "CBS This Morning" Harry Smith, co-anchor, "CBS This Morning"

1995

Susan Ford Bales, daughter of President Gerald Ford and First Lady Betty Ford Dr. Elmer Huerta, director, Cancer Preventorium, Washington Cancer Institute Jane Seymour, actress and advocate U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor

1996

General H. Norman Schwarzkopf John Mack Carter, journalist Dolores Beilenson, spouse of Congressman Anthony Beilenson (Calif.)

1997

Senator Connie Mack and Mrs. Priscilla Mack (Fla.) Andrea Roane, news anchor and reporter, WUSA 9 News, and the Women of Channel 9

1998

Sam Donaldson, news anchor, ABC
Mary Jane Fate, advocate, state of Alaska, with
Nancy Murkowski, spouse of Senator Frank Murkowski (Alaska)
Sue Ann Thompson, Wisconsin Women's Health Foundation and
spouse of Secretary of Health and Human Services Tommy Thompson

1999

Debbie Dingell, spouse of Congressman John Dingell (Mich.) Katie Couric, co-anchor, NBC's "TODAY" show Dick Hirsh, MD, founder, Radiology Mammography International



Tamra Bentsen, spouse of Congressman Ken Bentsen (Texas)

Jill Biden, spouse of Senator Joseph Biden (Del.)

Ruth Ann LaMott and Barbara Raehl, Navigator Program, Munson Medical Center (Mich.)

Shirley Ruedy, health columnist, Cedar Rapids Gazette (Iowa)

Senator Connie Mack (Fla.) (Lifetime Achievement Award)

Congressman John Porter (Ill.) (Lifetime Achievement Award)

2001

Barbara Everett, spouse of Congressman Terry Everett (Ala.)

Melissa Thomas, director, Breast, Education, Screening and Treatment (BEST) program (Ohio)

Leslie Mouton, news anchor, KSAT-TV, San Antonio (Texas)

2002

Barbara Bush, former First Lady Ann Curry, co-anchor, NBC News' "TODAY"

Dr. Susan Love, author and advocate

2003

Priscilla Dewey Houghton, spouse of Congressman Amo Houghton (N.Y.)

Cokie Roberts, news anchor, ABC

The SHADE Foundation – Curt and Shonda Schilling Melanoma Foundation of American with

The SunWise School Program of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

2004

Linda Dooley, spouse of Congressman Cal Dooley (Calif.)

The Weather Channel

Mayor Thomas Menino, Boston (Mass.)

Congresswoman Sue Myrick (N.C.)

2005

Cecile Tauzin, spouse of Congressman Billy Tauzin (La.)

Deirdre Imus, author and environmentalist

Karyn Green, news anchor, WXIA 11, Atlanta (Ga.)

Lance Armstrong and Bristol-Myers Squibb Tour of Hope (Special Recognition)

2006

Elizabeth Edwards, spouse of Senator John Edwards (N.C.)

Joel Siegel, film critic, ABC's "Good Morning America"

Wendy Chioji, news anchor, WESH, Orlando (Fla.)

Dr. Arvin S. Glicksman, Rhode Island Cancer Council



Barbara Grassley, spouse of Senator Charles Grassley (Iowa) Barbara Johnson, spouse of Senator Tim Johnson (S.D.) Dr. Sanjay Gupta, Chief Medical Correspondent, CNN Phil Gordon and Rafe Furst, Founders, Bad Beat on Cancer

2008

Suzie Dicks, spouse of Congressman Norm Dicks (Wash.)
Diana Enzi, spouse of Senator Mike Enzi (Wyo.)
Robin Roberts, co-anchor, ABC's "Good Morning America"
Congresswoman Deborah Pryce (Ohio)

2009

Betty Ann Tanner, spouse of Congressman John Tanner (Tenn.) Kelly Corrigan, author and journalist Scott Hamilton, Olympian

2010

Liz's Legacy, University of Nebraska Medical Center's Eppley Cancer Center Sam Champion, weather anchor, ABC's "Good Morning America" Chef José Andrés, winner of the James Beard Outstanding Chef Award

2011

Freda Manzullo, spouse of Rep. Don Manzullo (Ill.)
Erin Andrews, ESPN "Game Day" with her father,
Steve Andrews, seven-time Emmy Award-winning broadcast journalist
Congresswoman Lois Capps (Calif.)
Congressman Mike Castle (Del., Special Recognition)

2012

Marcelle Leahy, spouse of Sen. Patrick Leahy (Vt.)
Barbara Morris-Lent, spouse of Rep. Norman Lent (N.Y.)
Jennifer Griffin, national security correspondent, FOX News Channel
Dara Torres, Olympian
Ellen Noghès, spouse, H.E. the Ambassador of Monaco (Special Recognition)

2013

Landra Reid, spouse of Sen. Harry Reid (Nev.)
Andrea Mitchell, host of NBC News and MSNBC's "Andrea Mitchell Reports"
Shannon Miller, Olympian and president of Shannon Miller Lifestyle
Healthy Base Initiative of the United States Department of Defense



Linda Bachus, spouse of Rep. Spencer Bachus (Ala.)
Dr. Nancy Snyderman, Chief Medical Editor, NBC News
CVS Health, accepted by Dr. Andrew Sussman, President, Minute Clinic and
Senior Vice President/Associate Medical Officer, CVS Health

2015

Franki Roberts, spouse of Sen. Pat Roberts (Kan.)

Dr. Siddhartha Mukherjee, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Columbia University, and author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning book "The Emperor of All Maladies" Sharon Percy Rockefeller, President and Chief Executive Office, WETA Sandra Lee, author and television personality

2016

Patricia Mica, spouse of Rep. John Mica (Fla.) Summer Sanders, Olympic champion and television host Amy Robach, news anchor, ABC's "Good Morning America"

2017

Sarah Hospodor-Pallone, spouse of Rep. Frank Pallone (N.J.)
Marie Royce, spouse of Rep. Ed Royce (Calif.)
Laurie McGinley, The Washington Post health/medical reporter
Sun Bum® and Protect The Groms®, accepted by Tom Rinks, President, Sun Bum®, and
Drake Rinks, Executive Director, Protect The Groms®

2018

Helen Green, spouse of Rep. Gene Green (Texas)
Kasey Crowley, spouse of Rep. Joe Crowley (N.Y.)
Norah O'Donnell, co-host, "CBS This Morning," and contributor to "60 Minutes"
Phil Kessel, NHL hockey player for the Pittsburgh Penguins

2019

LeeAnn Johnson, spouse of Rep. Bill Johnson (Ohio) Amanda Soto, spouse of Rep. Darren Soto (Fla.) Patrick Dempsey, founder, The Dempsey Center U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

2020

Terry Loebsack, spouse of Rep. Dave Loebsack (Iowa) Craig Melvin, news anchor, The "Today" Show Ken Jeong, actor/comedian/producer/writer Games Done Quick, accepted by Mike Uyama, founder

2021

30th Anniversary Celebration of the Congressional Families Program



Abby Blunt, spouse of Sen. Roy Blunt (Mo.) Hoda Kotb, co-anchor of "TODAY" and co-host of "TODAY" with Hoda & Jenna Chris Evert, tennis champion

2023

Patti Garamendi, spouse of Rep. John Garamendi (Calif.) Martha Mckenzie Hill, spouse of Rep. French Hill (Ark.) Al Roker, Weather and Feature Anchor, "TODAY" and Co-Host, 3rd Hour of "TODAY" Congressman Jamie Raskin (8th District, Maryland)

