Laurels Awards

Laurels Awards

Laurels AwardsThe Latin name for the Bay Laurel plant, laurus noblis, is derived from the word “to praise” or to be renowned or famous. The laurel has long been a symbol of tribute, honor, victory, merit and reward. In Ancient Rome, heroes among the athletes, generals, emperors and poets received a wreath of laurels as homage to their service and accomplishments.

The Prevent Cancer Foundation® created the Cancer Prevention Laurels in 2003 to recognize and celebrate innovators and leaders in the fight against cancer. View our past Cancer Prevention Laurels recipients below. 

Awards are made in the following three categories to recognize work in any field of cancer prevention and early detection:

  • Cancer Prevention Laurel for National Leadership: Awarded to an individual who has shown exemplary leadership in cancer prevention or early detection at the national level in the U.S. A successful nomination will be of an outstanding individual whose leadership and vision have inspired others to join him or her in working toward a shared goal which has made a difference in cancer screening or prevention.

  • Cancer Prevention Laurel for Increasing Health Equity: Awarded to an individual or organization for programs or innovations improving cancer prevention and screening in communities in the U.S. affected by health disparities. A successful nomination will be of an individual or organization that has identified and implemented innovative ways to provide services to underserved populations at the local, state or national level.

  • Cancer Prevention Laurel for Dedication to Community Service: Awarded to an individual who has demonstrated unwavering commitment to enhancing cancer prevention or early detection on the community level in the U.S. A successful nomination will be of a remarkable individual who has identified and addressed gaps in meeting community needs in cancer prevention and screening. This commitment can be demonstrated through development and implementation of educational, clinical or research programs.

Share this letter with your colleagues to submit outstanding individuals for a Laurel. 

You may make one or more nominations; however, you may nominate someone for only one award category and may make only one nomination per award category. Provide a letter for each nomination describing why the nominee should be recognized with a particular award and include a short biographical sketch (no CVs please). Submit your nominations online here.

The deadline for nominations for the 2018 Laurels Awards was Tuesday, December 19, 2017,  6 pm EST.  Late submissions will not be considered. If you have any questions, please contact Lorelei Mitrani at or (703) 519-2102.

2017 National Leadership Holly J. Wolf, Ph.D, M.S.P.H.
  Advocacy Brian Hummell
  Special Award for Community Service  Gina M. Villani, M.D., M.P.H.
2016 National Leadership James Hotz, M.D.
  Advocacy Anjee Davis
  Special Award for Community Service  Ira F. Combs, R.N. 
2015 Innovative Programs Lynn F. Butterly, M.D. 
  National Leadership Durado Brooks, M.D., M.P.H.
  Advocacy Councilmember LaToya Cantrell
  Special Award for Leadership in Skin Cancer Prevention  Rear Admiral Boris Lushniak, M.D., M.P.H. 
  Special Award for Innovation in Health Information Technology Karen B. DeSalvo, M.D., M.P.H., M.Sc.
2014 Innovative Programs Olga G. Sánchez
  National Leadership Laurie Fenton Ambrose
  Advocacy Thomas K. Weber, M.D., F.A.C.S.
  Special Award for Inspiration The NewsBabes
  Special Award for Health Policy Susan Dentzer
2013 Innovative Programs Michael B. Potter, M.D.
  National Leadership James L. Mulshine, M.D. 
  Advocacy Jo-Ellen Corkery De Luca
2012 Innovative Programs Franklin G. Berger, Ph.D.
  National Leadership Jasjit S. Ahluwalia, M.D., M.P.H, M.S.
  Advocacy Ann E. Fonfa
  Lifetime Achievement Sidney J. Winawer, M.D.
2011 Innovative Programs Sanja Percac-Lima, M.D., Ph.D., D.M.D.
  National Leadership  Mary Doroshenk, M.A.
  Advocacy Whitney Jones, M.D.
2010 Innovative Programs Lina Jandorf, M.A.
  National Leadership  Laura Seeff, M.D.
  Advocacy Susan Shinagawa
2009 Innovative Programs Diane Dwyer, M.D.
  National Leadership  Tim Byers, M.D., M.P.H.
  Advocacy Joe Arite
2008 International Leadership Joseph Sung, M.D.
  National Leadership  Claudia Baquet, M.D., M.P.H.
  Advocacy Anita Mitchell
2007 Innovative Programs Claudia Christensen, R.N., F.N.P., C.G.R.N.
  National Leadership  David Lieberman, M.D.
  Advocacy Amy Kelly
2006 Outstanding Advocacy Barry Stein, Esq.
  Outstanding National Leadership Harold P. Freeman, M.D.
  Outstanding Public Service Linda Burhansstipanov, M.S.P.H., Dr.P.H. 
  Honorary Cancer Prevention Laurel for Educational Outreach Foghorn Leghorn
2005 Dedication to Community Service Paul Limberg, M.D., M.P.H.
  National Leadership  Richard Wender, M.D. 
  Advocacy Dale Mintz, M.P.H., C.H.E.S. 
  Dedication to Public Service Congresswoman Louise Slaughter
2004 Dedication to Public Service Nathaniel Cobb, M.D. 
  Dedication to Community Programs Amelie G. Ramirez, Dr.P.H. 
  National Leadership Robert A. Smith, Ph.D. 
  Advocacy Cindy Iverson
  International Leadership Meinhard Classen, M.D.
    Paul Rozen, M.D.
    Sidney J. Winawer, M.D.
2003 Outstanding Public Service Ernestine Hambrick, M.D.  
  Innovation in Communications Elmer Huerta, M.D.
  Outstanding National Leadership Bernard Levin, M.D.
  Dedication to Community Programs Robert Warren, M.D.