** Media Advisory for December 1– Prevent Cancer Foundation 30th Anniversary Reception**

December 2, 2015

Contact: Lisa Berry

­­­­­­­Prevent Cancer Foundation celebrates 30 years
Foundation honors Congressional Leaders in Cancer Prevention

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Prevent Cancer Foundation is celebrating thirty years of saving lives across all populations through cancer prevention and early detection. In recognition of this milestone, the Foundation is hosting a reception on December 2, 2015 to honor Congressional Leaders in Cancer Prevention for their dedicated service and commitment to this mission.

“The Congressional Leaders in Cancer Prevention have introduced and supported critical cancer prevention legislation, served as messengers to their communities and been strong champions of cancer research, funding, education and outreach,” said Carolyn Aldigé, President and Founder of the Prevent Cancer Foundation. “Under their leadership, we have been able to create real change so fewer families face the challenges of cancer diagnoses or the devastation of losing loved ones to these diseases.”

The Congressional Leaders in Cancer Prevention include Reps. Debbie Dingell and Tim Murphy, who recently founded the first-ever Congressional Cancer Prevention Caucus.

“Thirty years ago, prevention was not a part of the mainstream conversation,” said Rep. Dingell. “The Prevent Cancer Foundation was at the forefront of responding to a critical public health need—and three decades later they continue to beat the drum and make significant contributions to cancer prevention and early detection. I am honored to join them in celebrating 30 years of progress in prevention.”

Confirmed speakers for the event include Ms. Aldigé, Reps. Dingell and Murphy, and Rep. Doris Matsui.

The Congressional Leaders in Cancer Prevention are:

  • Lamar Alexander
  • Kelly Ayotte
  • Michael Bennet
  • Ami Bera
  • Don Beyer
  • Marsha Blackburn
  • Sherrod Brown
  • Lois Capps
  • Ben Cardin
  • Susan Collins
  • Mike Crapo
  • Joe Crowley
  • Diana DeGette
  • Rosa DeLauro
  • Debbie Dingell
  • Charlie Dent
  • Renee Ellmers
  • Mike Enzi
  • Dianne Feinstein
  • Kirsten Gillibrand
  • Kay Granger
  • Chuck Grassley
  • Heidi Heitkamp
  • Dean Heller
  • Steny Hoyer
  • Steve Israel
  • Leonard Lance
  • Patrick Leahy
  • Ted Lieu
  • Frank LoBiondo
  • Carolyn Maloney
  • Doris Matsui
  • Jim McGovern
  • Barbara Mikulski
  • Tim Murphy
  • Patty Murray
  • Rick Nolan
  • Donald Payne, Jr.
  • House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi
  • Joe Pitts
  • Fred Upton
  • Chris Van Hollen
  • Greg Walden
  • Debbie Wasserman Schultz

WHO:  The Prevent Cancer Foundation

WHAT: 30th Anniversary Reception to honor Congressional Leaders in Cancer Prevention

WHEN: Wednesday, December 2, 2015
              5:00-7:00 PM

WHERE: Rayburn House Office Building
                Room B-369

FOR MEDIA INQUIRIES: Contact Lisa.Berry@preventcancer.org

TO RSVP: Contact Marisa.Vertrees@preventcancer.org

About The Prevent Cancer Foundation

Founded in 1985, the Prevent Cancer Foundation is the only U.S. nonprofit organization focused solely on cancer prevention and early detection. Since its inception, the Foundation has provided more than $142 million in support of cancer prevention and early detection research, education, outreach and advocacy programs across the country.

For more information, please visit www.preventcancer.org.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *