Carolyn R. Aldigé President & Founder

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Scott McIntyre

Chairman Garv Lytle

Vice Chairman

James L. Mulshine, M.D. Vice Chairman, Scientific Director

> Kathryn A. West Secretary

Brock R. Landry Treasurer Katherine Kennedy Allen Frantz Alphonse Ron Christie The Hon. Vic Fazio Drew Figdor Jeremy Hardy FitzGerald Kimberley Fritts Joyce H. Gates Lilibet Hagel Joann Piccolo Pawan Singh Sharon Stark George Swygert

Sustaining Director

Betty Alewine Michael F. Brewer Ron Doornink Karen D. Fuller Gordon (Don) Hutchins, Jr. Joel Jankowsky Marcelle Leahy Jon Mittelhauser Jean Perin Andrea Roane David Tutera Margaret Vanderhye Virginia A. Weil

Emeritus Directors

David S. Alberts, M.D. Catherine P. Bennett Margaret Bush Marcia Myers Carlucci Elmer E. Huerta, M.D., M.P.H. Alexine C. Jackson

ounding Director

Alan P. Dye Harold M. Keshishian*

MEDICAL ADVISORY BOARD David S. Alberts, M.D. Chairman

SCIENTIFIC REVIEW PANEL James L. Mulshine, M.D. *Chairman*

*Deceased



Stop Cancer Before it Startal

December 15, 2015

Dear Colleague:

We are pleased to issue the call for nominations for the 2016 Cancer Prevention Laurels!

The laurel is an ancient Roman symbol of tribute, honor, victory, merit and reward. The Prevent Cancer Foundation created the Cancer Prevention Laurels in 2003 to recognize and celebrate innovators and leaders in the fight against cancer.

More recently, the National Colorectal Cancer Roundtable (NCCRT) and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) joined the Foundation as co-sponsors of these prestigious awards. The Laurels Awards ceremony is an important part of the Foundation's annual national Dialogue for ActionTM on Cancer Screening and, in 2016, the ceremony will be held on April 7.

We invite you to nominate individuals whom you believe deserve this recognition. Awards will be made in these categories to recognize work in any area of cancer prevention or early detection:

- **Cancer Prevention Laurel for National Leadership**: Awarded to someone who has shown exemplary leadership in cancer prevention or early detection at the national level.
- Cancer Prevention Laurel for Advocacy: Awarded to someone whose personal passion for improving cancer prevention or early detection has resulted in positive change in the public, professional or political arena.
- Cancer Prevention Laurel for Dedication to Community Service: Awarded to someone who has demonstrated unwavering commitment to enhancing cancer prevention or early detection on the community level.

You may make one or more nominations in any or all of the categories. (Click here for a list of previous Laurels recipients.) Provide a brief letter for each nomination describing why the nominee should be recognized with a particular award and include a short biographical sketch. E-mail your nominations to Lisa Han at <u>lisa.han@preventcancer.org</u>. Nominations must be received by COB on Friday, January 15, 2016 (new date).

Please join the Foundation, NCCRT and ACOG in recognizing outstanding individuals who are making a real difference in cancer prevention or early detection.

Thank you for your support. We hope to see you April 6 - 8, 2016, at the Dialogue! For more about the Laurels awards and the Dialogue, visit <u>www.dialogueforaction.org</u>.